Edwin Carter Weitz: A Tempered View

Reception Date: 
Fri, 11/02/2012 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Show Date: 
Fri, 11/02/2012 - Sat, 12/01/2012

A Tempered View 11.2.12
New oil paintings by Edwin Carter Weitz at Modern Arts Midtown
- by Michael J. Krainak, Freelance Writer in the Visual Arts

You might think after 20 years as a successful graphic artist on behalf of such household brands as Union Pacific, Disney and Pepsi, among others, that any additional métier or passion would represent an alter ego. Not so for oil painter Edwin Carter Weitz of Lincoln, Nebraska whose art has arced beyond that of mere hobby or outlet. In fact, Weitz believes his short six-year “career” in landscape oils has been transformative.

John Himmelfarb: Paintings and Sculpture

Reception Date: 
Fri, 10/05/2012 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Show Date: 
Tue, 10/02/2012 - Sat, 10/27/2012

Keep On Truckin’ 10.5.12
Artist Himmelfarb returns to Omaha via new ‘vehicle’ at MAM
by Janet L. Farber

Artists from outside Omaha have always had a presence in the local art scene. They help to keep the artistic landscape varied and lively, enhancing the conversation about how regional artists partake of a national or even international dialogue. Some of these “carpetbaggers” are shown but once, while others become returning favorites.

Marjorie Mikasen: Geometric Abstraction

Reception Date: 
Sun, 09/16/2012 (All day) - Mon, 10/22/2012 (All day)
Show Date: 
Sun, 09/16/2012 - Mon, 10/22/2012

Visit the artist's page here: http://www.modernartsmidtown.com/artists/Marjorie%20Mikasen

for more information about the exhibition @ Sheldon, click the link below
http://www.sheldonartmuseum.org/exhibitions/upcoming_exhibitions.html?to...

Fresh Gunk, new work by Omaha artist Colin C. Smith

Reception Date: 
Fri, 09/07/2012 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Show Date: 
Fri, 08/31/2012 - Sat, 09/22/2012

Fresh Gunk 9.7.12
New Painting and Sculpture from Colin C. Smith at Modern Arts Midtown
-by Michael J. Krainak, Freelance Writer in the Visual Arts